Simon Alcantara

Things are not always as the appear to be…

Posted in fashion and photography by simonalcantara on November 1, 2009

THINGS ARE NOT ALWAYS AS THEY APPEAR TO BE…

November 2 2009. Tokyo, Japan.

P1070206

WATER FOUNTAIN NYC COPYRIGHT SIMON ALCANTARA 2009

I recently had a life changing epiphany that caused a paradigm shift in my consciousness. Actually, even though it appeared to me to have happened in an instant I realize now that it was a gradual process in which every single moment that preceded the epiphany was a crucial and important step and moreover the epiphany was simply another step on my journey.

The conflict I was experiencing was really an illusion pretending to be reality. I had been looking for “something” in my work as a designer that the work could not give me. Then the next thought that unfolded in front of me like a beautiful lotus flower was that I had also looked for that “something” in relationships be it familial, friendships or love relationships. The epiphany that everything I needed was already inside of me, and if I opened up internally and let my “soul river flow” there was so much already there that it would overflow in to my exterior experience was the most liberating thought I have ever had. I thought I knew this already and I did, intellectually, but I realized I had not put it completely into practice. I had not made it part of my every moment.

P1070097

SKYSCRAPER NEW JERSEY COPYRIGHT SIMON ALCANTARA 2009

I use the ambiguous “something” because a word to describe what I was looking for would diminish its value and limit its impact. It is what you discover when you sit in silence and quiet your mind every day. When you discover this limitless internal soul river then you simply let every external experience be what it is, you can be present and enjoy every moment, every person, every taste, smell, touch and word and every experience is filled with such meaning because you are experiencing what is actually there and not the ego delusion of needing something that does not exist outside of you.

P1070582

SKYSCRAPER SHIODOME TOKYO COPYRIGHT SIMON ALCANTARA 2009

I believe that everyone who reads this will connect to what I am speaking about because I see all around me that people are searching for “something” and when they see it reflected in art, music, fashion, photography and design they have emotional responses to what they see (they feel what they see). I think the work of Alber Elbaz of Lanvin connects with so many women not only because it is beautiful externally which it undoubtedly is, but so much of the beauty, the most important part of it in fact happens on the inside of the garment. So the result is that it looks amazing on any woman, and she feels amazing in it.

If you work on the inside everything on the outside becomes more beautiful….

P1070591

WALKWAY SHIODOME TOKYO COPYRIGHT SIMON ALCANTARA 2009


I have been developing an interest in photography and made a commitment to myself to take photographs almost every day. I have been playing around with this idea of things are not always as they appear to be in my photographs. The photos you see here were taken at night so that I could play with the exposure and use the lights to “paint” the photographs. These are just a few shots of hundreds of photos. Maybe some day I will show you all of them!

Peace and love,
Simon

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Arlene said, on November 2, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Congratulations Simon! May life give you many many years so you can inspire us all. And to keep enjoying all the beauty you create.
    Bless you


Leave a Reply

