Simon Alcantara

Berghain

Posted in ART AND CULTURE, fashion and photography, MUSIC, photography by simonalcantara on January 11, 2010

Berghain in Berlin image from berlin.unlike.net/locations/71-Berghain

I arrived in Berlin on my birthday January 2, 2010.  As I always do research before I travel I already knew I wanted to go dancing at Berghain.  I read that it was the best club in the world, that the door policy was uber strict and chances are you may not even get in after waiting  on the line for 2 hours. Well the only thing I ever waited on line for was an iphone  ( yes I know, for shame) . I grew up in NYC and starting going to clubs at 12, thanks to being tall for a 12 year old, a fake id and an obsession with fashion that started in the womb and sheer bravado.  I headed out to Berghain at 5 am  because I read that things really get started around 7am.  The club opens at 11 pm and fills up quickly, but a change happens around 7am.  The cab driver could not find the place! It is in a remote industrial park.  If you don’t know where you are going chances are you will not find it.  So he made a suggestion and dropped me off somewhere where I can’t even remember the name of but it was not for me.  I took another cab back to the hotel, got more detailed information, mapped it on my iphone ( the one I waited 4 hours to buy because I just had to have it on the very first day. Yes that one), and alas I was at Berghain.  I was shocked at how long the line was, but I was determined.  I met people from Switzerland, and Berlin on the line and you start to build this sort of bond while waiting in the freezing cold.  They all kept telling me it was worth the wait and that I was going to love it.  An hour and 15 minutes later I am in!   All I can say is WOW!!!!!  I have never seen or heard anything like it in my life and I have been to clubs all over the world.   I arrived back at my hotel at 6pm the next night, forever changed.  Berghain, thank you, you truly are the best club in the world.  The picture below says it all.

Berghain in Berlin image from berlin.unlike.net/locations/71-Berghain

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hono said, on February 6, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Wow,it seems really fun!!!
    Sometimes it happens for me also, I forget
    a day is just 24 hours!


Leave a Reply

